The Other Constant of Life

girls-839809_1280How many of us still remember high school? What was the highlight of those high school years?  For me, it was definitely being part of a close-knit circle of friends.  Now fast forward many years, strangely, none of these people are my friends.  I am fully aware that as I grow older, my friendship circle has been steadily shrinking, and I can literally count the number of friends I have on one hand (not including acquaintances), and even these friends are far away.  As we all went on to different universities or different programs and settled on different career paths, the chances of us ever crossing paths again grew slimmer each day. At my age, my contemporaries are married or just getting married, and when you have new mouth(s) to feed, your priority right now is probably not going out with a high school or university friend on a Friday night.

It is human nature to be wanted and to find like-minded people to confide in hoping that person will always have your best interests in mind.  As I grow older, I find there are two constants in life.  One constant is that we will all experience changes in the number of friends. I have witnessed best friends either break up or just drift apart.  Even spouses can eventually part ways.  I do not believe that most friends are for life, and most friendships do not withstand the test of time or a crisis.  However, to make up for the first constant, the second constant is that your family will always be there for you.  For many years now, I have found companionship in my mother.  I don’t think I fully appreciated back then just how important of a figure she is in my life. She fulfills my need to have a good friend to speak to and has become a personal adviser in every aspect of my life.  She is much more than that missing companion who fills the void in my life; she turned out to be a best friend for life.

Maybe not everyone is lucky to have a good relationship with their mother as I do with mine.  One thing I know for sure is that the only constant companion you will have is your family because they have watched you grow up with all your imperfections and quirky ways. Regardless, there is nothing they want more than to see you succeed.  Your success is also their success.  It is selfless.  That ultimately is what companionship is all about. Being there just because you want to be there.

In response to the daily word prompt – Companion

3 thoughts on “The Other Constant of Life

  1. samjsanderson June 22, 2016 / 1:46 am

    Definitely agree about the friendships point! It is a sad but true thing of life!

    Like

Leave a Reply

